Absolute Beginner!

Hi all,
I’ve been looking for an excuse to try and learn Lisp for awhile now and this looks great. No prior knowledge except copying/pasting some python.
Do you think you could write a bit more about the method of compiling please?
Not exactly of to a flier am I !
cheers
gbar

Compiling under Debian (Linux)

Hi,

What you will find here is a small lisp with limited types (symbol, list, integer) due to the small capacities of the arduino board. It is however very fun doing small electronic devices with the platform and lisp !!! Plus, this allow for dynamic testing as you are communicating with the board and so do not need to upload a sketch each time you’re doing a modification to your code.

Where to start ? David has done a great job with its site as it introduces everything you need. Follow the links in the “Getting started” section then in the “Tutorials” section.

Note : the uLisp is not compiled code. It is an interpreted lisp by c code that’s loaded on the arduino as a legacy sketch.

Don’t hesitate to come back here with your questions, Cheers,

Sébastien.

Ps : if you have already read all these chapters, where are you exactly blocked ? Are you able to execute some lisp code and see the results ?

Hi Sebastian,
I can’t seem to get it to work with the Arduino program. I’m using a Mac (OSX 10.7.5)
I have Arduino 1.6.5.
I copy and paste the test file into it and then

Arduino: 1.6.5 (Mac OS X), Board: “Arduino/Genuino Uno”

uLisp:45: error: ‘object’ does not name a type
uLisp:46: error: variable or field ‘myfree’ declared void
uLisp:46: error: ‘object’ was not declared in this scope
uLisp:46: error: ‘obj’ was not declared in this scope
uLisp:47: error: ‘object’ does not name a type
uLisp:48: error: ‘object’ does not name a type
uLisp:49: error: ‘object’ does not name a type
uLisp:50: error: variable or field ‘markobject’ declared void
(abbreviated by moderator)

This report would have more information with