Un-defun Function

Hello all,
I am new to arduino (and by extension ulisp) and have been playing with a starter kit with an arduino uno I got for my birthday. Is there a function to un-defun a function, or unset it? I run out of space a lot while playing with the device, so I have been doing this to unset functions:

(defun s ()())

It doesn’t look like I get all of the memory I had before defining the function originally (I think it is still taking up memory).

Is there a good function to clear previously defined functions so I don’t have to keep unplugging the arduino?
Thank you for your help!

Not entirely sure, but I think you could try to use (setq s nil), I don’t think that will completely wipe it away either as the symbol will still exist, but that should be less memory than what you were currently doing.

I guess this leads me to another related question: what takes up memory? Is it individual characters that get typed into ulisp?

It frees most of it, but not quite all. Try (makunbound 's).

No. To use the terminology of Lisp, the characters are fed into the reader. The reader constructs objects in memory - symbols, integers, cons cells and so on. Lists are made using linked cons cells, and the evaluator works with those lists.

Thanks! I’ll try out makunbound. I didn’t realize this was the function!

Also, thank you for the great explanation about memory. With common lisp, I’ve never had to worry about memory before, so it was never on my mind!

uLisp doesn’t have distinct namespaces for functions and variables, so makunbound works for both - in Common Lisp you’d need to use fmakunbound, and I’m pretty sure if uLisp ever does sprout a second namespace, that function would come along for the ride. :p

As for Common Lisp and memory, that’s understandable. uLisp runs on some extremely constrained platforms - the Arduino Uno being a prime example. :p