A way to call C/C++ functions

I am a beginner in ulisp. I read http://www.ulisp.com/show?19Q4 and tried to integrate the function of my esp32c3 Bluetooth keyboard and BLE uart into it. ulisp is very useful because many codes can be debugged in ulisp’s REPL. However, it requires implementing interfaces in C for ulisp to call, and when there are changes in the C code, it needs to be compiled and uploaded, which takes quite some time.

I couldn’t find any particularly good methods on the forum, maybe I missed something. However, I did discover a fairly good approach to invoke C/C functions without the need to modify the C/C code, thus reducing compilation time. The specific method involves defining a ulisp function called call-c-fun . When ulisp calls call-c-fun , the corresponding C++ code of call-c-fun will invoke the C/C++ function based on the ulisp parameters.

/*
 * call c function
 * (call-c-fun address [arg0 arg1 arg2])
 */
object *fn_call_c_fun (object *args, object *env);

int test_cfun(int n, char c) {
    printf("call %s %d %d\n", __FUNCTION__ , n, c);
    return 100;
}
/*
I can use 
**nm ulisp-esp.ino.elf | grep test_cfun** 
in the Arduino compilation directory to get the function address of test_cfun, and then (defvar test_cfun 1107296638)
*/
//in ulisp call c fun:
>(defvar test_cfun 1107296638)
>(call-c-fun test_cfun 32 65)
addr=1107296638 arg_len=2
get_value value=32
get_value value=65
call test_cfun 32 65

The code implementation can be found at: https://github.com/hyj0/ulisp-esp/tree/hyj.

To achieve more complex functionality, you have implemented call-c-fun2 , which allows parameters and return values to be objects or other types.

/*
 * call c function
 * (call-c-fun2 '(t (t nil nil...)) address arg0 arg1 ...)
 */
object *fn_call_c_fun2 (object *args, object *env)

// t indicates that the parameter is of object type, nil indicates C/C++ element type

for example:

/*
  stringlength - returns the length of a Lisp string