Making uLisp run faster – any suggestions?

I’ve been thinking about ways of making the uLisp interpreter run faster.

uLisp’s code is very compact, and on most platforms it takes up a small fraction of the available program memory. For example:

Platform Usage
Arduino Zero (ATSAMD21) 28%
Adafruit Feather M4 (ATSAMD51) 13%
Adafruit ItsyBitsy nRF52840 12%

This offers the possibility of improving uLisp’s performance by taking advantage of the large amount of spare program memory. Ideally this should be done without requiring extra RAM, or totally rewriting the code.

One idea is to unwind loops where possible.

Done anyone have any other suggestions?

You may try to find out (or measure) where (in which functions) the program stays for long times and which part of the program is called most, there may be profiling tools helping in this question.
These may be the places where optimizations have a large effect.
I think gcc has some features doing this, but I have no experience in using them. (GPROF and GCOV may help, but I read about it in a rather old book; there may be better / more modern helpers available).

I actually think that “speeding up” is not aaaaall that important.

Kindly permit me a “philosophical” observation: everything you usually do on a machine demands “memory”. The “scarce” memory is the RAM, the “available” memory is the flash. If you could somehow “shift” the “memory burden” from the RAM into the flash, you will have freed more of the most precious resource. “How can one do that?” - Yeah, there are different ways, and this time I do not mean “virtual memory”. Rather, I mean “TYPICAL” operations. “Things a user would do”: compute mean and standard deviation of a range, compute calendar dates, etc.